A solar powered car?

The solar panels are now installed so I could say I’m driving a solar powered car. However, I am net metering so it’s more of a carbon offset than a direct feed into my car. I’m going through Sun Common for my solar lease.

Our average monthly usage is under 300 kWh so we don’t have a very large roof mounted array. The system was designed to include the EV but I had also assumed that I would not do all my charging at home. Other than a 15 minute charge at Healthy Living, which was free except for the $20 I spent in the store, I’ve done all my charging at home.

I haven’t even looked at gas prices for the past 2 weeks. I’m now over 600 all-electric miles, which is still way too much driving.

Leave a Reply

