This has changed my life

As the army Afghan war veteran walked away from our conversation at the charger at the corner of Church and Main street in Burlington he shook his head and said, “This has changed my life.”

A little before 8:00 a.m. I pulled into the dedicated EV charging space at Church and Main and plugged my car in. A man who had been reading the bulletin board nearby came over and asked, incredulously, “Is that charging your car?” I mentioned that I commuted in from Jericho and he said, “my unit’s in Jericho.” That’s how we got on the subject of his service in Afghanistan where he said 90% of the fatalities he saw were from the fuel convoys being blown up. “It’s not rocket science, it’s always the last truck in the convoy and on those mountain roads we’re only going 5-10 mph.” He described an RPG hitting the fuel truck and the incredible noise and fireballs of fuel shooting all over.

I told him one of the reasons I purchased an EV was to make sure we would never find ourselves in such vulnerable positions again and that he and his comrades wouldn’t be put in harms way because of our reliance on fossil fuel. He said the amount of diesel they would go through was “ridiculous”. I could have stayed chatting with him for hours. I thanked him for his service and he thanked me and walked away shaking his head and saying, “this has changed my life.”

 

Leave a Reply

