1 degree + 6 inches of snow = No problems

And, time to get snow tires put on. It was wonderful to pre-heat the car before taking it to John Leo’s to get snow tires put on. While the driveway got plowed I still had to get through some snow – no problems. The traction on the Leaf is fantastic, must be that 600 pounds of batteries right down the middle. No need to put sand in the trunk with an EV. I drove to Leo’s with the heater blasting. I do love the heated seat and heated steering wheel. I do wish they had heated mirrors though. While the heater certainly drained the battery, just like the ac I still had plenty of juice to get there and home at the end of the day with plenty left over. So, when folks ask me how it handles in the snow my answer is, “way better traction than any ICE car I’ve owned.” When asked how it handles in the cold I can say with pre-heating, heated seats and steering wheel it gets quite toasty. It certainly doesn’t compare to the heat generated from burning fossil fuel but is more than adequate even at 1 degree.

Leave a Reply

